Policy Evaluation

Analyzing the effectiveness of policy measures

Designing labor market policies without wasting resources requires reliable information on the effectiveness of policy measures. IZA therefore provides scientifically grounded evaluation studies that analyze to what extent legislation and policy programs achieve their goals and whether these policies have unintended side effects. Our focus is not restricted to labor market policy per se but also includes related policy areas that affect the labor market, such as education, family, pensions, and health.

The evaluation of policies that have already been implemented is usually based on designs with appropriate control groups. In addition to this type of research, IZA also works with structural models that allow for the simulation of the effects of planned changes in a variety of policy areas, in particular the redistributive effects of the tax and benefit system. Our own IZA Evaluation Dataset makes an important contribution to the development of innovative data for the evaluation of future labor market programs.

Our current work focuses on:

• Behavioral microsimulation

• The IZA Evaluation Dataset

• Effective family policy

Holger Bonin

Chief Coordinator of Labor Policy Research

Holger Bonin

IZA

+49 228 38 94 121
bonin@iza.org
Profile page
Sinem H. Ayhan

Research Associate

Sinem H. Ayhan

IZA

+49-228-38 94 403
ayhan@iza.org
Profile page
Andreas Lichter

Research Associate

Andreas Lichter

IZA

+49-228-38 94 533
lichter@iza.org
Profile page
Nico Pestel

Senior Research Associate

Nico Pestel

IZA

+49-228-38 94 160
pestel@iza.org
Profile page
Amelie Schiprowski

Resident Research Affiliate

Amelie Schiprowski

IZA

+49-228-38 94 225
schiprowski@iza.org
Profile page
Eric Sommer

Research Associate

Eric Sommer

IZA

+49 228 3894 139
sommer@iza.org
Profile page