EN       DE
  Home   Search  
IZA World of Labor
  Site Map   Contact   Member Login

IZA Young Labor Economist Award

The "IZA Prize in Labor Economics", awarded annually since 2002, has become one of the most distinguished international awards in economics. In 2006, IZA has additionally established the "IZA Young Labor Economist Award" to honor an outstanding published paper in labor economics written by young researchers. To qualify for the award, all authors of the paper must be younger than 40 years of age at the time of publication. The prize money of 5,000 Euros is shared between the authors.
The selection process starts with nominations sent in by IZA Research Fellows. The nominated papers are then be screened by the IZA Program Directors, who propose three papers each. On the basis of these proposals, the prize-winner(s) will be selected.
The establishment of this award reflects IZA's strong ambition to support young and aspiring academics. It is meant to provide an additional incentive for this group to conduct high-quality research in labor economics.
List of previous winners:

YLEA 2006:
Enrico Moretti (University of California, Berkeley)
YLEA 2007: Oriana Bandiera (London School of Economics), Iwan Barankay (University of Warwick), Imran Rasul (University College London)
YLEA 2008: Fabian Lange (Yale University)
YLEA 2009: Alexandre Mas (Princeton University)
YLEA 2010: Raj Chetty (Harvard University)
YLEA 2011: Johannes Abeler (University of Oxford), Steffen Altmann (IZA), Sebastian Kube (University of Bonn), Mathias Wibral (University of Bonn)
YLEA 2012: Scott Carrell (UC Davis), Mark Hoekstra (Texas A&M)
YLEA 2013: Martha Bailey (University of Michigan), Brad Hershbein (Upjohn Institute), Amalia Miller (University of Virginia)
YLEA 2014: Brian Kovak (Heinz College, Carnegie Mellon University)

Award Winner 2015

Alessio Brown | Reed Walker
At the traditional IZA reception during the Annual Meeting of the Allied Social Science Associations (ASSA), held in San Francisco in January 2016, IZA Director of Strategy and Research Management Alessio Brown presented the 2015 IZA Young Labor Economist Award to Reed Walker (University of California, Berkeley) for his article "The Transitional Costs of Sectoral Reallocation: Evidence from the Clean Air Act and the Workforce" (Quarterly Journal of Economics, 2013).

Read more in the IZA Newsroom!

© IZA  Impressum  Last updated: 2016-05-02  webmaster@iza.org    |   Print View    |    Privacy Policy