EN       DE
  Home   Search  
IZA World of Labor
  Site Map   Contact   Member Login

IZA Prize in Labor Economics

Ira N. Gang | Gary S. Fields | Klaus F. Zimmermann
Cornell professor Gary S. Fields is the winner of the 2014 IZA Prize in Labor Economics for his outstanding contributions on the importance of efficient labor markets to fight poverty and foster economic development in low- and middle-income countries. Worth 50,000 euros, the IZA Prize is regarded as the most prestigious science award in the field. The award ceremony will take place during the ASSA annual meeting in Boston on January 4, 2015.

According to the award statement from the IZA Prize Committee, Fields pioneered economic thinking about labor markets in developing countries by focusing on indicators such as poverty, inequality and income mobility. Fields’ policy recommendations aim at increasing the level and security of wages for employees and self-employed by incentivizing investments in the private sector, growth and international trade, and by providing the necessary skills and business know-how to stimulate labor demand. In this respect, Fields also shows the shortcomings of previous development aid, which had not sufficiently targeted labor market needs.

The Prize was awarded by IZA Director Klaus F. Zimmermann during the ASSA Meeting in Boston on January 4, 2014, with a laudatory speech by Ira N. Gang. Read more in the IZA Newsroom!

Read also the internationally published op-ed Working Hard, but Working Poor by Gary Fields.

About the IZA Prize

A sound understanding of problems in labor economics has proven ever more important in light of the adjustment processes that are currently taking place in the international labor markets. In order to account for this trend, the Institute for the Study of Labor - with generous support from the Deutsche Post Foundation - has created the "IZA Prize in Labor Economics". This annual prize is awarded for outstanding academic achievement in the field of labor economics. It is meant to stimulate research that tries to find answers to the important labor market policy questions of our time. In November 2002 the IZA Prize was awarded for the first time [view all past prize-winners].

More than 1,200 renowned labor economists are affiliated with IZA through its worldwide network. These influential economists are entitled to nominate candidates for the prize. The decision will be made by the IZA Prize Committee, which includes distinguished international labor economists as well as IZA representatives.

The IZA Prize in Labor Economics underscores the central importance of labor market research in shaping the "Future of Labor."

For further information, please contact: prize@iza.org


IZA Prize Book Series

All prize-winners contribute a volume to the IZA Prize in Labor Economic Series published by Oxford University Press, which has been established to provide an overview of the laureates' most significant findings.

Each IZA Prize Laureate contributes a volume to this unique collection of seminal research covering a broad range of topics in labor economics. IZA Director Klaus F. Zimmermann and other IZA experts serve as co-editors of the series.

Published and forthcoming volumes include:

MINCER: The Founding Father of Modern Labor Economics
EASTERLIN: Happiness, Growth, and the Life Cycle
MORTENSEN/PISSARIDES: Job Matching, Wage Dispersion, and Unemployment
LAYARD/NICKELL: Combatting Unemployment
LAZEAR: Inside the Firm: Contributions to Personnel Economics
CARD/KRUEGER: Wages, School Quality, and Employment Demand
BLAU: Gender, Inequality and Wages
ASHENFELTER: Labor Policy Evaluation and the Design of Natural Experiments (forthcoming)
BLUNDELL: Taxation and Labour Supply (forthcoming)
HAMERMESH: The Demand for Labor: The Neglected Side of the Market (forthcoming)
FIELDS: Employment and Development (forthcoming)
FREEMAN: Labor Demand (forthcoming)

[read more]

© IZA  Impressum  Last updated: 2015-04-23  webmaster@iza.org    |   Print View    |    Privacy Policy