EN       DE
  Home   Search  
IZA World of Labor
  Site Map   Contact   Member Login

IZA Prize in Labor Economics

Hamermesh | Zimmermann
Daniel S. Hamermesh (University of Texas at Austin and Royal Holloway, University of London) is the 2013 winner of the IZA Prize in Labor Economics. He received the prestigious award, worth 50,000 euros, in recognition of his fundamental contributions to the analysis of labor demand during an award ceremony in Washington, DC, on November 18.

According to the Prize Committee, "Hamermesh's research is characterized by a focus on thought-provoking questions, a high level of creativity, and careful combination of theoretical and empirical methods. He has shaped the way other scholars, as well as policy makers, think about some of the key issues in labor economics."

[Read more in IZA Newsroom]

About the IZA Prize

A sound understanding of problems in labor economics has proven ever more important in light of the adjustment processes that are currently taking place in the international labor markets. In order to account for this trend, the Institute for the Study of Labor - with generous support from the Deutsche Post Foundation - has created the "IZA Prize in Labor Economics". This annual prize is awarded for outstanding academic achievement in the field of labor economics. It is meant to stimulate research that tries to find answers to the important labor market policy questions of our time. In November 2002 the IZA Prize was awarded for the first time [view all past prize-winners].

More than 1,200 renowned labor economists are affiliated with IZA through its worldwide network. These influential economists are entitled to nominate candidates for the prize. The decision will be made by the IZA Prize Committee, which includes distinguished international labor economists as well as IZA representatives.

The IZA Prize in Labor Economics underscores the central importance of labor market research in shaping the "Future of Labor."

For further information, please contact: prize@iza.org


IZA Prize Book Series

All prize-winners contribute a volume to the IZA Prize in Labor Economic Series published by Oxford University Press, which has been established to provide an overview of the laureates' most significant findings.

Each IZA Prize Laureate contributes a volume to this unique collection of seminal research covering a broad range of topics in labor economics. IZA Director Klaus F. Zimmermann and other IZA experts serve as co-editors of the series.

Published and forthcoming volumes include:

MINCER: The Founding Father of Modern Labor Economics
EASTERLIN: Happiness, Growth, and the Life Cycle
MORTENSEN/PISSARIDES: Job Matching, Wage Dispersion, and Unemployment
LAYARD/NICKELL: Combatting Unemployment
LAZEAR: Inside the Firm: Contributions to Personnel Economics
CARD/KRUEGER: Wages, School Quality, and Employment Demand

[read more]

© IZA  Impressum  Last updated: 2014-09-17  webmaster@iza.org    |   Print View    |    Privacy Policy