EN       DE
 
  Home   Search  
IDSC
 
IZA World of Labor
  Site Map   Contact   Member Login
   
Logo

IZA-World Bank Workshop: The Informal Economy and Informal Labor Markets in Developing, Transition and Emerging Economies

Organizers: Hartmut Lehmann (University of Bologna and IZA), Riccardo Rovelli (University of Bologna and IZA), Stefano Scarpetta (OECD and IZA)
Place:Bertinoro, Italy
Date:January 26, 2007 - January 27, 2007

Event Manager:

Ulrike Maurer (IZA)

The main sponsor of this event is the Fondazione Cassa dei Risparmi di Forli. The organizers are very grateful to the Fondazione for this financial support.

Program

Thursday, January 25: Arrival of participants

Friday, January 26:

10:00 - 10:15   Greetings by the Organizers
 
10:15 - 11:30   John Bennett (Brunel University and IZA), Stephanie Levy (ODI)
  "From Informal to Formal: The Role of Capital Accumulation in Senegal"
  Discussant: Riccardo Rovelli (University of Bologna and IZA)
 
11:30 - 11:45   Coffee/Tea Break
 
11:45 - 13:00   William F. Maloney (World Bank and IZA), William F. Maloney (World Bank), Mariano Bosch (London School of Economics)
  "Informality and Gross Worker Flows in Latin America"
  Discussant: Saul Estrin (London School of Economics and IZA)
 
13:00 - 14:00   Lunch
 
14:00 - 15:15   Stefano Scarpetta (OECD and IZA), Suzanne Durea (Inter-American Development Bank), Gustavo Marquez (Inter-American Development Bank and IZA), Carmen Pages (Inter-American Development Bank and IZA)
  "For Better or for Worse? Job and Earnings Mobility in Nine Developing and Emerging Economies"
  Discussant: Randolph Luca Bruno (University College London and IZA)
 
15:15 - 16:30   Hartmut Lehmann (University of Bologna and IZA), Norberto Pignatti (University of Bologna and IZA)
  "Informal Employment and Labor Market Segmentation: Evidence from Ukraine"
  Discussant: Randall K. Q. Akee (University of California, Los Angeles and IZA)
 
16:30 - 17:00   Coffee/Tea
 
20:00       Dinner
 

Saturday, January 27:

10:30 - 11:45   Franco Peracchi (University of Rome Tor Vergata), Valeria Perotti (University of Rome Tor Vergata), Stefano Scarpetta (OECD and IZA), Carmen Pages (IADB and IZA), Gero Carletto (World Bank), Kinnon Scott (World Bank)
  "Developing a Statistical Instrument for Assessing Informality"
  Discussant: Piergiorgio Ardeni (University of Bologna)
 
11:45       Invited Paper Session
 
11:45 - 13:15   Gary S. Fields (Cornell University and IZA)
  "Modeling Labor Market Policy in Developing Countries: A Selective Review of the Literature and Needs for the Future"
  Discussant: Matteo Cervellati (University of Bologna and IZA)
 
13:15 - 14:15   Lunch
 
14:15 - 15:45   Andrey Launov (University of Mainz and IZA), Isabel Günther (University of Göttingen)
  "Competitive and Segmented Informal Labor Markets"
  Discussant: Chiara Monfardini (University of Bologna and IZA)
 
15:45 - 16:00   Concluding Remarks by Stefano Scarpetta (OECD and IZA) and Hartmut Lehmann (University of Bologna and IZA)
 
16:00 - 16:30   Coffee/Tea
 
20:00       Dinner
 




List of Participants

Randall K.Q. Akee (akee@iza.org)
Pier Giorgio Ardeni (ardeni@spbo.unibo.it)
John Bennett (john.bennett@brunel.ac.uk)
Randolph Bruno (randolph.bruno@unibo.it)
Matteo Cervellati (matteo.cervellati3@unibo.it)
Marco d'Errico (derrico@spbo.unibo.it)
Saul Estrin (s.estrin@lse.ac.uk)
Gary Fields (gsf2@cornell.edu)
Andrey Launov (andrey.launov@uni-wuerzburg.de)
Hartmut Lehmann (lehmann@spbo.unibo.it)
William F. Maloney (w.maloney@worldbank.org)
Chiara Monfardini (chiara.monfardini@unibo.it)
Franco Peracchi (franco.peracchi@uniroma2.it)
Valeria Perotti (valeria.perotti@uniroma2.it)
Norberto Pignatti (pignatti@spbo.unibo.it)
Rene Rivera (rivera@sssup.it)
Riccardo Rovelli (riccardo.rovelli@unibo.it)
Stefano Scarpetta (stefano.scarpetta@oecd.org)
Simona Valmori (valmori@spbo.unibo.it)
Anzelika Zaiceva (zaiceva@iza.org)

© IZA  Impressum  Last updated: 2014-05-31  webmaster@iza.org    |   Print View